WILLIAM PARKER: I Plan To Stay A Believer The Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield

I Plan To Stay A Believer: The Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield
William Parker

Label: AUM Fidelity
Format: CD

William Parker: bass,
doson’ngoni, balofon
Hamid Drake: drums
Dave Burrell: piano
Lewis Barnes: trumpet
Darryl Foster: tenor & soprano sax
Sabir Mateen: alto & tenor sax, flute
Leena Conquest: vocals
Amiri Baraka: voice, poetry
* with guests on select tracks:
Lafayette Gilchrist: piano
Guillermo E. Brown: drums
New Life Tabernacle
Generation of Praise
Choir of Brooklyn, NY

1 .I Plan To Stay A Believer.12.52
2 .If There’s A Hell Below .21.23
3 .We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue .17.41
4 .I’m So Proud / Ya He Yey Ya .15.15
5 .This Is My Country (Paris) .5.44

6 .People Get Ready / The Inside Song .14.38
7 .This Is My Country (New York) .10.56
8 .It’s Alright .5.13
9 .Move On Up .17.27
10 .Freddie’s Dead .11.26
11 .New World Order .6.59

+ AUM Direct Download Only Bonus Tracks
These two tracks are from October 2008 (Cormons) and are available exclusively to those that purchase the 2xCD direct from AUM. You will be emailed a one-time-use download code with your order. We love you too! WORD.
People Get Ready / The Inside Song features the core 8-piece group (while the version selected for the album features the addition of a gospel choir); I’m So Proud is a duet between Leena & Hamid (while the album version is the one only time that the full band ever performed it live. WORD (again!) & WOW (yes!).
1 .People Get Ready / The Inside Song .16.57
2 .I’m So Proud .6.59

All compositions by Curtis Mayfield (Warner-Tamerlane Pub Corp.); arranged by William Parker
except Ya Hey Yey Ya and The Inside Song by William Parker (Centering Music, BMI)
P+C 2010 AUM Fidellity

Produced by William Parker and Steven Joerg
All tracks recorded live in concert spanning: March 2001 (Paris), April 2002 (Amherst, MA), February 2007 (Chiasso, Switzerland), June 2008 (New York), October 2008 (Cormons & Botticino, Italy)
Vision Festival XIII tracks recorded by Stefan Heger
Track 4 recorded by Peter Kontrimas as part of the Magic Triangle Series, Amherst, MA
Tracks 6, 7, 9, 11 mixed by & entire project mastered by
Michael Marciano at Systems Two Studio, Brooklyn.

Photography by Luciano Rossetti C Phocus Agency
Original die-cut art by Raymond A. King, Philadelphia
Layout/design by Ming@409

All info provided by AUM Fidelity, please visit AUM Fidelity website.

Where to buy:

This entry was posted in AUM Fidelity, New and Upcoming Releases and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s